

Howdy & Happy New Year!

Last year, we celebrated 25 years of the Bush School of Government & Public Service. In celebration, we hosted many events and special guests such as Bill Burns, Director of the Central Intelligence Agency; Christopher Wray, Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation; General Paul Nakasone, Director of the National Security Agency; Joe Straus, former Speaker of the Texas House of Representatives; and General David Petraeus, former Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, just to name a few!

We are very excited for all that is planned for the coming year and hope that you will be able to join us when possible!

As always, a new year will bring a new graduating class from the Bush School. We are eager to see these graduates follow in your footsteps to become noble public servants and continue the legacy of the 41st President George H.W. Bush. Thank you for all you have done to contribute to this legacy and to make a difference in our world. We are proud of you!



Submit Your Nomination Today



Inspiring the Spirit of Aggieland: The 41 Award

Do you know a deserving faculty or administrative member that you would like to nominate? Click the button below.

Seeking to honor the Core Values of Texas A&M University and life and legacy of President George H.W. Bush, the award recognizes faculty and administration who develop leaders of character dedicated to serving the greater good.

Nominations are open until January 12, 2024.

Nominate a Deserving Faculty or Administrative Member Here



Dr. Ann O'M. Bowman Named Regents Professor



The Bush School of Government & Public Service is pleased to announce that Dr. Ann O'M. Bowman has been named one of Texas A&M University's 14 Regents Professors for 2023-2024.

The award is bestowed to full-time faculty members who have held the rank of professor or equivalent in the Texas A&M University System for at least five years and have produced a distinguished record of teaching, research and other scholarly activities.

Dr. Bowman holds the Hazel Davis and Robert Kennedy Endowed Chair in Government and Public Service. Dr. Bowman joined the Bush School faculty in 2008. Her research has focused on public administration, politics, Federalism, political economy and economic growth.

Before joining the Bush School, Dr. Bowman was a faculty member at the University of South Carolina, where she was the James F. and Maude B. Byrnes Professor of Government. She received her doctorate in political science from the University of Florida. Dr. Bowman specialized in state and local politics and management, intergovernmental relations and public policy, especially the substantive areas of environment, economic development and land use.



Johnny Morris, Founder & CEO of Bass Pro Shops Receives 2024 McLane Leadership in Business Award



The Bush School's Mosbacher Institute invites you to the 2024 McLane Leadership in Business Award program honoring Johnny Morris, founder & CEO of Bass Pro Shops. Morris pioneered the concept of destination retail and created an outdoor gear enterprise that is one of the most well-recognized brands in North America. Additionally, he has become one of the nation's conservation leaders, working to ensure that natural habitats, wildlife and the outdoors remain healthy and abundant for future generations to protect and enjoy.

The annual McLane Leadership in Business Award recognizes a prominent business leader for outstanding contributions in business, public service, or community service at the national level. The award is designed to promote a sense of corporate citizenship, to reinforce the idea that business plays a key role in maintaining the economic, political, and social vitality of our nation. The McLane Leadership in Business Award program was made possible through the generosity of Drayton McLane Jr., chairman of the McLane Group and noted Texas entrepreneur, business leader, and philanthropist.

Date: March 5, 2024

Time: 5:00 pm CST

Location: Annenberg Presidential Conference Center 1002 Bush Drive West, College Station, TX 77845

RSVP to Attend



Upcoming Professional Development Opportunities



Center *for* Nonprofits & Philanthropy

THE BUSH SCHOOL • TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY

Leadership in Board Service Program | January 9, 2024 Houston, Texas

Dr. Will Brown, Director of the Center for Nonprofits & Philanthropy and Dr. Angela Seaworth, Director of Philanthropic Initiatives and Capacity Building at the Center for Nonprofits & Philanthropy, Bush School of Government & Public Service, Texas A&M University will lead this professional development training discussing members roles, responsibilities, and best practices.

More Information Here





City & County Governance Symposium | March 7, 2024 College Station, Texas

Mark your calendars! The Bush School is hosting its second annual City & County Governance Symposium on March 7, 2024 at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center in College Station, Texas. Stay tuned for registration details!



The Development & Alumni Relations Team



Joy Monroe
Assistant Dean for Development, Alumni Relations and Strategic Initiatives
imonroe@tamu.edu

"Be bold in your caring, be bold in your dreaming and above all else, always do your best."







TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY

The Bush School

of Government & Public Service

<u>Manage</u> your preferences | <u>Opt Out</u> using TrueRemove™ Got this as a forward? <u>Sign up</u> to receive our future emails. View this email <u>online</u>.

Texas A&M University 4220 TAMU | College Station, TX 77843-4220 US

This email was sent to .

To continue receiving our emails, add us to your address book.

emma

Subscribe to our email list.