News from the Bush School

Bush School Students Make Presentations at the American Bar Association

February 09, 2015

Bush School Students Make Presentations at the American Bar Association

Ten students from the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University, along with five students from the University’s Mays Business School and Department of Economics, were guests of the American Bar Association (ABA) at the ABA Section of Taxation Midyear Meetings held January 29-31 in Houston.  The students participated in the ABA Transfer Pricing Student Symposium, where several presented analyses of two recent transfer pricing cases. Their analyses had originally been conducted as part of their course work in a transfer pricing course taught by Professor Lorraine Eden, who also arranged their participation in the meetings.

Dr. Eden, a professor of management and an associated faculty member in the Bush School, and Jonathan Hunt, from the law firm Mayer Brown, also took part in a second session entitled “Intangibles in Litigation: Defining and Valuing Compensable ‘Intangibles.’”

The students attended the Texas Tax Directors panel on new developments in transfer pricing, chaired by Kelly Hales (Ernst & Young), and were guests at the ABA Tax Transfer Pricing reception.  The trip was made possible with financial support from the Bush School, the ABA, and Ernst & Young.

“All of these events provided an opportunity for students studying transfer pricing to network with tax and transfer pricing experts in US and foreign law firms and to learn more about job opportunities and practices in the legal profession,” said Dr. Eden.  “This connection with the ABA is especially important since we had such a diverse group of students participating, including students from the United States, China, Pakistan, Madagascar, Vietnam, Iran, and Ukraine,” Eden said.

Bush School Students Make Presentations at the American Bar Association

Bush School students who presented their analyses included Zike Chen, Andrea Berrios, Sean Larsen, and Chris Janes.  Also presenting were Lindsey Cude, a master’s student in the Department of Finance, and Yue (Nancy) Zhang, a PhD candidate in the Department of Economics. Other students attending included Heri Fano, Shuting Shan, Tetania Zakrevska, Yukuai He, and Fatima Riyaz, from the Bush School; and June Nguyen, Nick Jiang, Parsa Pourankooh, and Sanmita Nepal, all master’s students at the Mays School.