Bush School Researcher a Member of Award-Winning TEES Team

November 14, 2018

Arnold Vedlitz


Dr. Arnold Vedlitz is part of a multidisciplinary engineering research team that recently received the Engineering Genesis Award for Multidisciplinary Research. The award was presented during a meeting of the Texas Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) External Advisory Board.

Vedlitz holds the Bob Bullock Chair in Government and Public Policy at the Bush School and is also Division Head for the Science, Technology, and Public Policy Division at the Texas Engineering Experiment Station.

The award is presented to TEES researchers who have secured significant research grants of $1 million or more working with colleagues in other colleges at Texas A&M.  Dr. Ali Mostafavidarani from the Department of Civil Engineering was the principal investigator on the project, which received a $2 million grant from the National Science Foundation for a study of human-infrastructure resilience to urban flooding. In addition to Vedlitz, the research team included co-PIs Philip Berke and Sierra Woodruff from the College of Architecture’s Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning and Bjorn Birgission also from the Department of Civil Engineering.

“This award is recognition of how important multidisciplinary research is to advancing our knowledge in so many areas,” Vedlitz said. “Bush School scholars bring expertise in policy research to a project that enables engineers and scholars from other disciplines to fully understand and appreciate the policy implications of the work they are doing,” he added.

[Return to homepage]

Tags: Faculty / News / Research /