Dr. Joanna Lahey Receives Women’s Progress Faculty Award

April 27, 2017

Joanna Lahey


Dr. Joanna Lahey, associate professor at the Bush School of Government and Service at Texas A&M University, has been honored with the 2017 Women’s Progress Faculty Award. The annual award is presented to faculty members dedicated to fostering an environment supportive to the needs of women and providing class content and lectures that are inclusive in their approach and sensitivity to women’s issues.

“Dr. Lahey exemplifies the Bush School’s ongoing commitment to providing an environment where all can succeed and all are welcomed and valued,” Bush School Dean Mark Welsh said. “She is deserving of this recognition, and I encourage all Bush School students, staff, and faculty to follow Dr. Lahey’s footsteps in embracing inclusivity.”

The award was presented by the Texas A&M Department of Multicultural Services as part of the annual Accountability, Climate and Equity (ACE) Awards. ACE Awards acknowledge and honor students, faculty, and staff who encourage inclusion and demonstrate a commitment to the University’s core value of respect for others. Sixteen faculty, students, staff, and student organizations were recognized at the April 12 ceremony held at the Memorial Student Center.

Dr.  Lahey, a professor in the Bush School’s Department of Public Service and Administration, is an accomplished scholar with expertise in age discrimination and the relationship between age and labor market outcomes. She received her PhD in economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and her bachelor’s degree in mathematics and economics from Pomona College in Claremont, California. She has taught at the Bush School since 2006.

For more information on the ACE Awards, please visit

[Return to homepage]

Tags: Faculty / News /