Professor At Texas A&M Bush School Named Distinguished Scholar By International Studies Association

October 03, 2014

Valerie Hudson

Prof. Valerie Hudson, who holds the George H.W. Bush Chair in the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University, has been honored with the Distinguished Scholar Award from the Foreign Policy Analysis Section of the International Studies Association (ISA) for 2015.  The award is given to those who have made an “outstanding contribution to the field of foreign policy analysis through research and service.”

The ISA has been the premier organization for connecting scholars and practitioners in the field of international studies since 1959.  With more than 6,000 members in North America and around the world, ISA is the most respected and widely known scholarly association in this field.  The Foreign Policy Analysis Section is devoted to facilitating research and teaching on foreign policy.

An expert on international security and foreign policy analysis, Hudson developed a nation-by-nation database on women ( that triggered both academic and policy interest, and has been used by both the US Senate Foreign Relations Committee and various agencies of the United Nations.  Using this data, Hudson and her co-principal investigators from The WomanStats Project have published a wide variety of empirical work linking the security of women to the security of states.  She recently received a prestigious Minerva Research Award from the Department of Defense to extend the work of the project to an investigation of the relationship between marriage practices and social stability across cultural areas.

Charles Hermann, professor and Brent Scowcroft Chair in International Policy Studies, received the same distinction in 2001, and will participate on a panel at the annual conference of the ISA highlighting Hudson’s work.  Among other past winners of this award are some of the leading figures in the study of foreign policy, including Joseph Nye, Stanley Hoffman, Bruce Bueno de Mesquita, Janice Gross Stein, Robert North, Bruce Russett, James Rosenau, and Alexander George.

Gregory Gause, head of the International Affairs Department at the Bush School, said, “It is not surprising to me that Valerie Hudson received this singular honor.  She is a scholar of international reputation, working on some of the most interesting questions in the field.”


[Return to homepage]

Tags: Faculty / News /