News from the Bush School

Bush School Honors Faculty and Staff

September 29, 2009

September 29, 2009

Four faculty and staff members were recognized for their achievements at the annual Bush School Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony held Friday, September 25, 2009.  The awards were presented by Dr. Benton Cocanougher interim dean of the School. 

Dr. Christopher Layne received the College teaching award given by the Association of Former Students. Nominations for this $2,500 award came from Bush School faculty and students, and were evaluated by a committee at the Association.  Professor Layne holds the Robert M. Gates Chair in Intelligence and National Security at the Bush School. His fields of interest are international relations theory, great power politics, U.S. foreign policy, transatlantic security relations, and grand strategy. 

The Bush School Faculty Award for Excellence was presented to Dr. James M. Griffin in recognition of his work in teaching, research and public service that is particularly relevant to the School’s mission. Griffin holds the Bob Bullock Chair in Public Policy and Finance and is Director of the Bush School’s Program in the Economics of Public Policy. The $2,500 cash award was established by the Bush Presidential Library Foundation.  Griffin’s research interests span a variety of public policy areas ranging from energy policy to the effects of technological change on various industries.

Outstanding Staff Awards of $500 each were presented to Kathryn Meyer, director of recruitment, and Beth Roberts, program coordinator. 

“Thanks to the Association of Former Students and the Bush Foundation, we are able each year to recognize several of the many faculty and staff who have done outstanding work,” said Cocanougher. “The individuals honored this year have shown special dedication to the mission of the Bush School. These awards recognize their dedication, enthusiasm and an ongoing commitment to excellence,” he concluded.

For additional information contact:  Susan L. Robertson, Director of Communications and External Relations, Bush School, .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address), 979.862.8845