News from the Bush School

Bush School Honors Faculty and Staff

October 18, 2010

Four faculty and staff members were recognized for their achievements at the annual Bush School Faculty and Staff Awards Ceremony.

Dr. Kenneth Ashworth received the Association of Former Students College-Level Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching, which recognizes superior classroom teachers and was presented by Director of Campus Programs Kelli Hutka.  Nominations for this $2,000 award came from Bush School faculty and students, and were evaluated by a committee at the Association.  Professor Ashworth became a professor at the Bush School and the College of Education at Texas A&M University after serving as the Commissioner of Higher Education for the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

The Bush School Faculty Award for Excellence was presented to Dr. Kishore Gawande in recognition of his work in teaching, research, and public service, all of which contributes to the Bush School’s mission.  The $2,500 cash award, presented by Dean Ryan C. Crocker, was established by the Bush Presidential Library Foundation, and the recipient is selected by a committee appointed by the dean.  Professor Gawande’s research interests include international economics and politics, emerging economics, and applied econometrics, and he holds the Helen and Roy Ryu Chair in International Affairs.

Outstanding Staff Awards of $500 each were presented to Ann Grimes, business coordinator, and Lindsey Pavelka, assistant director of the public service leadership program.  These awards were given in recognition of their enthusiasm, accomplishments, and contributions to the Bush School, and were also presented by Dean Crocker.

“Thanks to the Association of Former Students and the Bush Foundation, we are able each year to recognize several of the many faculty and staff who have done outstanding work,” said Dean Crocker. “The individuals honored this year have shown special dedication to the mission of the Bush School. These awards recognize their dedication, enthusiasm, and ongoing commitment to excellence,” he concluded.