News from the Bush School

New Scholarship Honoring Dean Ryan Crocker Announced

July 07, 2016

Dean Ryan Crocker with Dr. Arnold Vedlitz and Tyson Voelkel

Tyson Voelkel (R), Texas A&M Foundation President and Bush School grad, along with Executive Associate Dean Arnold Vedlitz (L), presented Dean Crocker with the creation of the Ambassador Ryan Crocker Endowed Graduate Fellowship

A new scholarship honoring Bush School Dean Ryan Crocker has been established to lessen the financial burden for those pursuing a career in international affairs at the Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University. The scholarship is funded by several generous donors, including an initial gift by President and Mrs. George H. W. Bush. The campaign goal for the endowed fellowship is to raise $100,000 in order to provide a $4,000 scholarship to a deserving student for both years they attend the Bush School.

“I am deeply honored to know a scholarship bearing my name will help those pursuing a career in international affairs attend the Bush School,” said Crocker. “I hope this scholarship will continue to allow individuals to come to the Bush School to further their education and better serve their countries and the international community.”

Crocker began his service as dean of the Bush School in 2010, taking a leave of absence between 2011 and 2013 in order to serve as US ambassador to Afghanistan under President Obama. During his time as dean, the Bush School has grown tremendously, with record enrollment the past several years and several impressive additions to the Bush School faculty.

Crocker has served as US Ambassador six times, including Afghanistan (2011-2012), Iraq (2007-2009), Pakistan (2004-2007), Syria (1998-2001), Kuwait (1994-1997), and Lebanon (1990-1993). Since joining the Foreign Service in 1971, he also has had assignments in Iran, Qatar, Iraq, and Egypt, as well as in Washington. From May to August 2003, he was in Baghdad as the first director of governance for the Coalition Provisional Authority and was deputy assistant secretary of state for Near Eastern Affairs from August 2001 to May 2003. A recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, he is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the American Academy of Diplomacy, and the Association of American Ambassadors.