News from the Bush School

Bush Student Honored with Faculty Senate’s Aggie Spirit Award

June 02, 2016

Morten Wendelbo

Morten Wendelbo

Morten Wendelbo, a student who graduated this past May from the Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University, received the Aggie Spirit Award from the Texas A&M University Faculty Senate. The award is given each year to a student who demonstrates outstanding courage and determination in the face of adversity while attending Texas A&M.

“Receiving the Aggie Spirit Award from the faculty at Texas A&M is a tremendous honor,” said Wendelbo. “Without the kindness, patience, and advice of my professors, I wouldn’t have been able to complete my degree and contribute to my community at the same time.”

Three members of the Bush School faculty nominated Wendelbo for his contribution to the School, citing his effort to create a new student organization focused on development studies, his ability to bolster student spirit in the Bush School, his demonstrated leadership ability, and his outstanding academic achievements, among many other contributions. Wendelbo’s success, both inside and outside of the classroom, was all the more impressive considering the adversity he faced while enrolled at the Bush School.

Wendelbo was presented the award by the speaker of the Faculty Senate, Dr. Robert Strawser, during the final Faculty Senate meeting on May 9. The Aggie Spirit Award consists of a framed certificate signed by the speaker of the Faculty Senate and the chair of the selection committee and a monetary award. Students from across the University are nominated by faculty members, and the recipient of the Aggie Spirit Award is chosen by a selection committee consisting of members of the Faculty Senate and representatives from the TAMU Student Senate and the TAMU Student Government Association.