H-E-B President Craig Boyan to Receive McLane Leadership In Business Award From Texas A&M

September 18, 2015

Craig Boyan

The Mosbacher Institute for Trade, Economics, and Public Policy at the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University will honor H-E-B with the 2015 McLane Leadership in Business Award. The President and COO of H-E-B, Craig L. Boyan, will receive the award on Oct. 7, and talk about H-E-B’s unique business model and investment in local communities. 

The annual award recognizes exemplary corporate citizenship in fostering strong business-community partnerships and seeking regional solutions to common problems.  The award presentation and a lecture by Boyan will be at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center on the Bush School campus, from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.

H-E-B, one of the nation’s largest grocery store chains, makes a tremendous impact in each of the communities in which it conducts business, say Bush School officials. In the Brazos Valley, H-E-B focuses its efforts around the following community needs:  hunger relief, education, health, environment, diversity, military and the arts, through a broad array of initiatives ranging from collecting donations for the Brazos Valley Food Bank to supporting the Junior League’s Stuff the Bus project.

Boyan, president and COO of H-E-B since 2010, is a graduate of Harvard with an MBA from Columbia.  Boyan worked for several years at Monitor Group, a global consultancy firm, before joining H-E-B in 2005 as Chief Strategic Officer.  He is an active member of his community serving as chairman of the board for Junior Achievement of South Texas and as the general campaign chair for the 2015 United Way Campaign. He is also a member of the board for the Texas Biomedical Research Institute, Trinity University, UT Health Science Center, and the Wellness Coalition.

The McLane Award aims to highlight different roles business plays in maintaining the vitality of the nation, to educate youth and the public about corporate citizenship, and to instill in them a dedication to public service.  The award is named after Drayton McLane, Jr., chairman of the McLane Group, who is a strong supporter of the Bush School. He is a member of the Bush School Advisory Board and is the Chairman of the Bush School’s capital campaign.

The event and a reception beforehand are open to the public, but registration is required.  For more information and to register, go to

For more information, call 979.845.1927 or email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


[Return to homepage]

Tags: Events / News /

Follow us!

In the Media

April 16, 2018: "Lebanon’s Precarious Place in the Syria War" U.S. News & World Report

April 09, 2018: "Focus at Four: Homeland security expert on sending the National Guard to the border" KBTX

April 04, 2018: "Policy conference to address Texas water concerns" The Battalion

April 04, 2018: "Oklahoma teacher pay dispute: Does cost of living make a difference?" PolitiFact

April 03, 2018: "The road to a better economic future" Khmer Times

Additional Media

Lastest Bush School News

Mapping the Ugandan Cold Chain

Miss Rev visits the Bush School

Bush School Economist Exposes Groundwater Misconceptions

New I-School Dean Joins the Bush School Faculty

Bush School Students Give Back to Community in 2018 Big Event

Leading with loyalty to self and core values

An Evening with Bayan Sami Abdul Rahman, Kurdistan Regional Government Representative to the United