Mary Hein Receives President’s Meritorious Service Award

March 13, 2015

Mary Hein receiving the Meritorious Service Award

Mary Hein, Assistant to Dean Ryan Crocker at the George H.W. Bush School of Government and Public Service, was selected as a recipient of the 2014-15 President’s Meritorious Service Awards at Texas A&M University.

Hein was honored at the 28th annual campus award presentation ceremony on February 25, 2015. Interim University President Dr. Mark Hussey presented the awards and noted the importance of staff to the University.

“Texas A&M is privileged to have so many outstanding employees so worthy of recognition,” said Hussey. “This institution is sustained by thousands of highly capable staff members, often laboring in obscurity, and I’m delighted that we can recognize some of these dedicated employees.”

Hein has worked at Texas A&M University for more than 21 years, 12 of those years at the Bush School. In her current position for the last seven years, Hein has been a mainstay of the School’s growth and administrative evolution.  Dean Ryan Crocker said that Hein has been a vital resource for the Bush School’s faculty and staff, as well as providing outstanding support to his office.

At a ceremony at the Bush School celebrating the award, Dean Crocker stated, “Mary’s help in orienting me—a newcomer to university life—has been invaluable.  She consistently goes above and beyond in helping me and our faculty bring exposure and recognition to the Bush School and Texas A&M. Her experience and deep understanding of the School’s operations make Mary the ‘go-to’ person for our faculty and staff in many situations, and I’m very pleased to see Mary’s outstanding performance recognized by the University. All of us at the School congratulate her on this well-deserved honor.”

The President’s Meritorious Service Awards began in 1986. Awards are presented to recognize fifteen outstanding staff employees and one outstanding team for their meritorious service to the University. Nominations are called for during the fall and an anonymous committee appointed by the President selects the recipients.

Each individual recipient receives a $700 cash award, a commemorative plaque, and an award lapel pin. The team is recognized with a plaque for departmental display. Each member of the team receives a cash award of $200, a lapel pin and a framed certificate of recognition.

Awards are funded through the generosity of The Association of Former Students and the program is sponsored by the Office of the President and coordinated by Human Resources.

More information about the award program can be found online at


[Return to homepage]

Tags: News / Staff /

Follow us!

In the Media

November 11, 2017: "Texas A&M to host panel focusing on future of NAFTA" The Eagle

November 09, 2017: "International organization talks globalization" The Battalion

November 09, 2017: "Experts discuss Iran nuclear deal as part of 'What's Next?' series at Texas A&M" The Eagle

November 07, 2017: "Texas church shooting: The latest in line of deadly attacks" Corpus Christi Caller Times

November 07, 2017: "Learn from the past, says winner of McLane business award" The Eagle

Additional Media

Lastest Bush School News

“Friendsgiving” Event Sponsored by Bush School Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Respect, Not Just a State of Mind

Bush School Students Honor Veterans’ Service with Letter Campaign

Scowcroft Institute Policy Paper Analyzes Chinese Reluctance to Take Action Toward North Korea

Bush School’s Online Executive Master’s Program Ranked Seventh in the Nation

Robertson Foundation Names Four Bush School Students as 2019 Fellows

Texas A&M Bush School To Host Symposium On Women, Peace, And Security