Texas A&M Bush School To Celebrate 25th Anniversary of Fall of Berlin Wall Nov. 10

October 08, 2014

Fall of the Berline Wall Event

Distinguished scholars, diplomats and government officials from the U.S. and Europe will come together at Texas A&M University to celebrate and discuss the fall of the Berlin Wall, one of the most dramatic and far-reaching events in world history.

The Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M will host a conference entitled “The 25th Anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall and the Liberation of Eastern Europe” on Nov. 10 at the Annenberg Presidential Conference Center.

The decades-old wall separating East and West Berlin was demolished 25 years ago, liberating much of Eastern Europe from authoritarian regimes, changing the face of Europe and beginning the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

The conference will bring together a unique group of individuals to review these historic events and discuss their effect on international relations then and now. Many of the conference participants were directly involved in the momentous events of 1989.

Speakers will include Lt. General Brent Scowcroft (Ret.), and former Secretary of State James Baker, both of whom were key advisors to President George H.W. Bush on national security issues, as well as Bush School Dean Ryan Crocker.


European participants will include Elmar Brok, a member of the European Parliament and current head of the Foreign Affairs Committee; Horst Teltschik, former security advisor to former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl; and Fredric Bozo from the University of Paris III: Sorbonne Nouvelle.

Ambassador Larry Napper of the Bush School, former deputy chief of mission at the U.S. embassy in Bucharest, Romania; Ambassador Robert Hutchings, dean of the LBJ School of Public Affairs and former deputy director of Radio Free Europe; and James Graham Wilson, historian at the Department of State are among the American scholars and policy experts who will participate in the conference. Others include Jeff Engel, director, Presidential History Projects, Southern Methodist University and Chris Layne, Josh Shifrinson and Gabriella Thornton from the Bush School.

The event is open to the public, but reservations are required.  Registration for the event and a complete list of speakers can be found here.

For additional information, contact Don Bailey, assistant director of the Scowcroft Institute at 979-845-1540 or .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).


[Return to homepage]

Tags: Events / News /

Follow us!

In the Media

April 16, 2018: "Lebanon’s Precarious Place in the Syria War" U.S. News & World Report

April 09, 2018: "Focus at Four: Homeland security expert on sending the National Guard to the border" KBTX

April 04, 2018: "Policy conference to address Texas water concerns" The Battalion

April 04, 2018: "Oklahoma teacher pay dispute: Does cost of living make a difference?" PolitiFact

April 03, 2018: "The road to a better economic future" Khmer Times

Additional Media

Lastest Bush School News

Bush School Economist Exposes Groundwater Misconceptions

New I-School Dean Joins the Bush School Faculty

Bush School Students Give Back to Community in 2018 Big Event

Leading with loyalty to self and core values

An Evening with Bayan Sami Abdul Rahman, Kurdistan Regional Government Representative to the United

Bush School Faculty Researcher Encourages Entrepreneurship in Africa

Dean Mark Welsh receives National Public Service Award